Skip to content

Categories:

traderdomains.com is a scam

I received an email this morning saying that [InsertDomainHere].com was available. I had been interested in acquiring this domain for sometime. I was not sure how traderdomains.com knew this, but somehow they did. They wanted $49.99 to secure the domain. I quickly did a search to see if traderdomains.com was actually real domain broker and came up with this post. Traderdomains.com is a total scam.

It turns out that the domain name I was interested in was indeed available, and owned by nobody. I was thus able to scoop it up for a normal domain registration fee of $10.00 or less. So be warned traderdomains.com, traderdomains.org, traderdomains.net, etc. is a complete scam.

Posted in General.

Tagged with , .


11 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. jan says

    I can verify that!!! traderdomains.com is a scam.
    This post saved me $23 bucks. I also received an email from TraderDomains.com to purchase altenergy101.com fo $40 and then for $30. Sure enough, they did not own it and it was available to be registered through my regular registrar for $7.

  2. ez says

    Yeah scam. I just got a similar email. I just went to the .com they said they had secured to see who owned it. Turned out it was available for regular fee from Godaddy or whoever. Too bad I am not interested in the domain. In a way, it is kind of cool they alerted me that it was available.

    If you go to traderdomains.com and type in any ridiculous typo it will sure that gasp, they recently magically secured that domain too! Their search function just searches what is available for reg fee.

  3. TJ says

    Hey Guys, be a little more charitable :-)

    Yes, they do not own the names – but I like the fact they tipped me off twice on great names I could get through Godaddy for $10!

    It is a pretty dumb idea, especially if you check on them – but they can send me as many tips as they want, saves me the work ;-)

  4. Bryn Knatterud says

    Point taken. It is nice to receive the tip off. But I also know that there are those who are being scammed out of their money.

  5. Adam Dresch says

    Just wanted to reply to this
    They have a server on the same subnet as ours and they got busted for spamming and their IP added to the spamhaus list
    Unfortunatly spamhaus also blacklisted the entire subnet (Which includes my server)
    Perhaps I should sue them for loss of business eh? heh

  6. Mark Watson says

    Pending- I got an email from them yesterday morning about one of my old domains that my ex-business partner let expire. It was the SECOND email I had received from them about this domain. I checked and the domain was NOT available through godaddy.com or bluehost.com. I paid the 30.00 because it is a domain I have owned for 10 years, and I want it back. NOW it is well past the 24 hours in which they promised me my transfer info. I did a whois and they HAVE the domain. Now I am just waiting to see if they hand it over or not.

    IF THEY DO, I WILL THANK THEM. Like I said, it was NOT available for $10, believe me, I checked. They secured it before I paid them. I just hope they deliver it to me.

  7. ACB says

    I’m exactly in the same case as you, Mark. When I received the email I checked the domain and it was not available. So I believed them (yes, i am stupid). Luckily, it’s only been 20$.

    If I now do a whois no the domain, I get this info: “Contact: info@registrymanagement.com“. This seems to be the company that actually made the register process. If I don’t get news from traderdomains (I doubt I do), I will contact registrymanagement.com.

    I will report my progresses.

  8. Webber says

    Same story, they notified me of a domain which was available that I bought from godaddy for $8. Should I send them a commission?

    They are using the site jora.us

  9. Carlo says

    At first I was excited that my domain name was available as .com (I was disappointed a year ago when I had to settle for .net)…I rushed over to their website, started to fill in the reg. details, then had the rational thought to Google them and found this post.

    I was again disappointed to read it was a scam, until I realized that the domain was actually available which I signed up for 9.95 per year! So, thanks heaps, you’ve saved me a good chunk of coin. Scumbags…but I should be thankful for their alert!

  10. m says

    Hi, is happen to me too, i checked on misterdomain.eu and registered dominion with them the domain offered from http://trader-domains.com at 6 Euro instead of 49.00 USD…

  11. The Naming Dude says

    Yep, got one of these too. In fact I got a series of them over a period of a month. Nearly fell for it, but fortunately just checked Godaddy myself to see if they owned it. Nope, they didn’t. So I registered it for $9.99. Total scam company. I blogged about it here: http://the-name-i-wanted-was-already-taken-so-i-used-a-lot-of-dashes.com/the-traderdomains-net-scam-avoid-this-rip-off-company/



Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.